You are here

Salter-Harris Classification

  Salter-Harris Type I

 Salter-Harris Type I

  • A transverse fracture through the physis
Salter-Harris Type II Salter-Harris Type II
  • A fracture throught the physis and metaphysis, sparing the epiphysis
Salter-Harris Type III Salter-Harris Type III
  • A fracture through the physis and ephysis, sparing the metaphysis
Salter-Harris Type IV Salter-Harris Type IV
  • A fracture through the the physis, metaphysis and epiphysis
Salter-Harris Type V Salter-Harris Type V
  • A compression fracture through the physis


The information on this website is intended for orthopaedic surgeons.  It is not intended for the general public. The information on this website may not be complete or accurate.  The eORIF website is not an authoritative reference for orthopaedic surgery or medicine and does not represent the "standard of care".  While the information on this site is about health care issues and sports medicine, it is not medical advice. People seeking specific medical advice or assistance should contact a board certified physician.  See Site Terms / Full Disclaimer